Cookbook of the Month (03/17)

I think it’s been mentioned before that I have a book problem collection. In an effort to get to know all of our cookbooks better, Chad and I thought it would be fun to try new recipes from one cookbook a month. When I’m actively menu-planning and making a solid effort to cook healthy meals every day, I like to try one or two new recipes a week. I usually grab three or four books to pick from, but I think I would benefit more from focussing on just one book for a longer period of time.

And since it’s March now, it’s not like a New Year’s Resolution, so maybe it’s a habit that’ll stick around!

So, where do I start? Alphabetically? Put all the titles in a hat and pull one out? Line ’em up by colour and start with the lightest? Or darkest? Take a family vote? No, that’s a bad idea. My kids would just choose the Cookies book. Walk to my shelf blindfolded and go with whatever I grab first? Not a smart idea – I’m clumsy by nature.

Alrighty, so I just went in the dining room and grabbed the book that I’ve been wanting to read lately. Maybe next month I’ll come up with a more creative way to choose.

So, I’m gonna go with:

Oh She Glows.

oh-she-glows

Angela is a Canadian author and this is her first cookbook. She released a second book last year. She has a very popular blog of the same name, Oh She Glows.

This is a vegan cookbook and we, as a family are not even vegetarian, but we try to go meatless about 2-3 times a week. I would really like to increase that amount, but our oldest is putting up some resistance against the legume family. Ok, and we all like bacon. There, I admitted it.

I’ve already been using this cookbook for a couple of years and have made several recipes (her Chana Masala is my go-to recipe), but I have a lot of sticky notes posted all over this book and I would love to try all of the recipes I’ve flagged. Here are a couple that have been jumping out at me: Loaded Savory Oatmeal & Lentil Bowl, Apple Pie Oatmeal, Creamy Vegetable Curry and Our Favourite Veggie Burger. And now I’m hungry.

I’m curious though, how do other people handle trying new recipes with their families? Is there anyone else out there that likes to collect cookbooks like I do? And if yes, which ones do I need to add to my collection? Let me know in the comments section.

In the meantime, happy cooking!

 

One thought on “Cookbook of the Month (03/17)

  1. Pingback: Cookbook of the Month (04/17)  – Blackwell Bees & Co.

Leave a Reply

