What I’m Reading (03/17)

It’s been well established by now that I enjoy reading, but even more than that, I like collecting books. I’ve been slowly building my library of homesteading books and now I’m trying to read through them all.

I bit off more than I could chew for February, so this month I’m going to read only 2 garden-y books. To check out our reviews of the books we are reading, hop on over to our Goodreads account. We’re slowly working through our ‘Read’ list on there and writing reviews.

I may have aimed a little high last month, but I’ll tell you a truth: I got The Garden Primer for my birthday and started reading it before I was done my other books. I know, shocking! I should have warned you to sit down before I laid down that truth bomb.

Naturally, I decided it should be added to my March list since I was so excited about it and already reading it anyway. Barbara Damrosch wrote this book and she’s a pretty well known author of all things garden, but I heard of her husband Elliot Coleman first (he also writes books!). The Garden Primer was a recommendation on some list on some blog somewhere and so I added it to my wishlist. That’s how I roll. I love book recommendation lists.

This is not likely a book that I’ll sit down and read cover to cover because I can already see it as being a book I’ll come back to again and again and again to learn things. That, and the last 400 pages are filled with information about individual types of flowers, herbs and vegetables – not something you just sit down with your coffee and read in one sitting.

gardenprimer

The other book on my list this month is Grow a Little Fruit Tree by Ann Ralph. This one caught my eye last year when we planted our fruit trees and I want to read it now so I can care for my trees properly as we move forward through the seasons. I really like the idea of growing small, manageable trees that produce the perfect amount of fruit for our family of four. This book has also been featured on a few recommendation lists.

littlefruittree

Alright. I’m going to go finish up the February list, read these March books and then figure out what I’m reading for April. If nothing else, writing a monthly reading list is helping me actually READ the books on my shelves instead of just staring at them. Apparently the information doesn’t seep in when you’re just looking at the spine of the book.

Oh, and I finished reading the Harry Potter series to my daughter. Just in case you were wondering.

Leave a Reply

