Blackwell Bog

They say “April showers bring May flowers”, right? Let’s hope so. If we get even the bare minimum of rain the forecasters are calling for this week, we could be in for about 60mm by Friday. Yikes.

Several times a year, our backyard becomes a small lake. March and June seem to be popular months for this to occur.

Let’s take a trip down memory lane to the times the backyard has become a waterlogged bog and I’ve taken pictures of it, shall we? After going through all of my photos, I feel like I must have missed a bunch of rainy photo ops. In my head, it’s happened more times that the photos suggest.

IMG_4480
June 23, 2015
IMG_4485
June 23, 2015 – Esme’s posture pretty much sums up my feelings that day.

I thought for sure the garden was doomed. I’m pretty sure it rained again within about 5 days of this rain, but I was too devastated to take a picture.

IMG_4566
July 6, 2015

Everything dried up and we only lost a few beans and some peppers (they hate me anyway). All that rain made for some super delicious lettuce that summer.

And this is where there might be a gap in the photos.

IMG_7199
March 24, 2016 @ 3:30pm
IMG_7209
March 24, 2016 @ 7:15pm

This rain bummed us out a bit because we had been on a gardening roll and this brought it to a halt in a hurry.

IMG_7221
March 26, 2016

The rain was nicely drying up, but there were still puddles for Esme to jump around in. And then, two days later…

IMG_7243
March 28, 2016

The farmer’s field beside us (not pictured here) was so wet for months after this rain, they couldn’t plant anything there.

IMG_7941
June 16, 2016
IMG_7943
June 16, 2016

Again! What’s with the major rain right after I plant all the things??! Ignore the neighbours’ property in the background (that’s what I do, anyway).

IMG_9810
January 12, 2017

A nice winter rain. And then if froze overnight and looked very pretty the next day.

IMG_9820
January 13, 2017

And then, because Mother Nature was confused this winter, it rained instead of snowed again (!!) five days later.

IMG_9850
January 17, 2017

We never did get a snow day this year. The kids actually started praying for a ‘flood’ day because that seemed more likely.

IMG_0675
March 31, 2017

Last Friday’s rain wasn’t as bad as it has been, but now it’s Sunday and the ground is still squishy. We’ll see what the coming week brings, but it doesn’t look like I’ll be getting to the winter clean-up anytime soon.

I usually love rainy days, but right now, I really want to work outside. This could be a long, long week for me. Good thing I’m still painting!

Leave a Reply

