What I’m Reading (04/17) 

The ‘To-Do List’ is growing now that Spring is officially here, so two of the books I’ve added to my reading list are mostly made up of pictures. The third book is quite skinny. That should make it easier to get through three books this month, right?

Because I’m an honest person, I need to confess that I do not read gardening/homesteading books cover to cover unless they’re written in a novel-like format. I always read the intro and then I jump around to different chapters until I have a good grasp on the book’s info. So glad I got that off my conscience!

On that note, here’s the list:

Digging the City is a book that was on a recommended reading list from a class I took last year. It’s tagline is “An Urban Agriculture Manifesto”. It takes a look at some of the common ways people are growing food in urban areas. This is something of concern for me as a mother raising kids who will likely be living in a large urban centre rather than an idyllic country setting. I think it’s also an important topic since so our culture is so food-centric yet so disconnected from our food sources.   It’s fascinating to me to see the innovative ways people are making changes to our food production to keep it local and accessible to everyone.

Chad and I have big plans for our front yard and in the next few months, we’ll be starting the transformation. To prepare for the project, I’ll be reading 100 Easy-to-Grow Native Plants for Canadian Gardeners. This will be one of many books I read for this fun project. More details and I’m sure a blog post or two will follow.

Since we began growing food, my interest in herbal remedies has increased and I’m excited to have enough space to grow a large herb garden. I found out about Homegrown Herbs on a book list somewhere and it looked like a great resource. It discusses garden design & maintenance, pest control, cooking with herbs and using herbs for medicinal and personal care.

As usual, I plan on curling up with a cup of coffee and a blanket to read these books. Now that it’s warming up, maybe I’ll even read on the back deck. Oh bliss!

If you have any book suggestions for me, please share in the comments as I’m always looking for new books to read.

Leave a Reply

