Cookbook of the Month (04/17) 

Spring seems to be officially here, which usually kicks off a few months of us eating at odd hours and making very simple meals. We still follow recipes, but we don’t like anything that keeps us inside for too long.

Last month, I chose a cookbook that I wanted to read, and I thought maybe I’d be more creative this month, but no. No creativity this month in my cookbook choice. None, whatsoever. Last week, I asked Arianah to pick a couple of recipes to add to our weekly menu plan, and without fail, she went straight to our Chef Michael Smith section and chose from one of his cookbooks. So, that’s how I decided this month’s featured cookbook.

For April, I hope to try new recipes from Chef Michael Smith’s Kitchen. We cook from his books quite often, and I can’t remember a time we’ve been disappointed – kids included. And pleasing them is a nearly impossible feat!

michaelsmith

Chef Michael Smith is another Canadian chef (that’s two in a row, if you’re counting. I’m feeling very patriotic, I guess.) and he’s written lots of cookbooks to date. I don’t have a list in front of me and I can’t really be bothered to find one. Sorry. You can check him out at your local bookstore or online.

Some of the recipes I hope to try include a Potato Bacon Cheddar Breakfast Bake, Split Pea Soup with Smoked Ham Hock, Slow-Baked Salmon with Honey Mustard Glaze and Gruyere Mashed Potatoes. This particular cookbook of his doesn’t have a section dedicated to vegetarian recipes, but if you’re like me, you can find a way to make those Mashed Potatoes your entire meal. With a small salad maybe so you don’t judge yourself afterward.

I’ve already made his Oven-Roasted French Fries with Spicy Ketchup and if I didn’t have a husband and two kids, I would have eaten the whole tray. I’m actually drooling just thinking about those fries.

And now I’m hungry. Happy eating!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

