Ah, Spring…

I always think autumn is my favourite season. Until April rolls around. Then I remember why I love spring best of all. The grass is so green, the trees are full of buds, plants are popping out of the ground. Even when the weather isn’t so warm, I want to open all the windows just to hear the birds singing again. And when I do, Chad follows along behind me closing them all back up again. I opened a window just now because he’s not here.

Once again, the seeds I planted last month have exceeded my very low expectations. I’m not sure why I doubt a seedling’s ability to grow. It happens all the time. And yet I’m still shocked when it happens here. There are plenty of seeds that have done absolutely nothing and I will have to replant a few things, but overall, the growth has been amazing.

All of this growth means that our grow zone is bursting at the seams right now. I spent most of Saturday potting up tomatoes, which really crowded the shelves.

IMG_0660
‘Before’ all the potting up. Lots of space on the left side. 
IMG_0774
‘After’ and all filled up. Seats are limited at this venue. 

I apologize for these pictures. I know they’re terrible.

Potting up took way longer than I thought it was going to take, but it felt so good to have my hands in the dirt again. The radio was on, the girls came outside to enjoy the weather, and Chad was working on stuff in the greenhouse and the shop.

IMG_0759
My corner of the shop. 
IMG_0763
These tomatoes looked so good. I can totally picture them on my burger. 
IMG_0764
I love solo cups. They make such great pots. Plus, I can throw them in the dishwasher and use them again next year. 
IMG_0765
You  can see the ones on the left were really sad to leave their baby room. They definitely all went through a period of shock but quickly bounced back. 

 

The herbs are also growing like crazy and I think I’ll be potting them up this week.

IMG_0794

IMG_0799

 

IMG_0793

IMG_0795

 

IMG_0796

IMG_0798

 

Even the peppers are growing. I hesitate to talk about them too much because I don’t want to jinx them. Maybe they’ll pose for some pictures later this week.

And now, even though the sun is still fighting through the clouds, I’m going to go hang out a load of laundry. Yay for spring!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

